Social Studies, Special Education, and Athletics!

How is being a high school co-teacher at MCHS different than the classroom teaching position you held before?
Coach Hebert: You get to experience a variety of students with lots of different learning levels. You get your higher lever, then you get your lower level kids.It’s a good variety of how to help and who you can help. I love it here at Mayde Creek. The kids are great, the faculty is so helpful and I really love being a co-teacher. Coach Christman and I really click and it works well, we are a good team. I feel more comfortable with the Social Studies aspect. We plan once a week and I feel very involved with that.  I think too, in coaching and in the classroom, I have probably learned more this year than in my 17 years of teaching as far as basketball knowledge and U.S. History knowledge. For 10 years I was stuck in the first part of U.S. history and now I’m learning the 2nd part. It’s fascinating and I love it. It’s making me grow as a teacher and as a coach. The teachers here, and the coaches, like Coach May, they take their time to really make sure that I’m learning. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *